Lutsk

Рус Укр Eng

Lutsk – one of the oldest cities of Ukraine and the historical center of Volyn and modern center of Volyn region – situated on the banks of the River Stir . The first mention of Luchesk (founded in the bend of the river , from which came the name ) in 1085 shows that even then he was building and was large enough craft and commercial center of Kievan Rus.

After joining Volyn the Grand Duchy of Lithuania in the middle of XIV century. Lutsk became the seat of its southern lords and the last capital of Galicia- Volyn principality. At the suggestion of the Holy Roman Emperor Sigismund in 1429 Lutsk chosen venue for grand -scale congress of monarchs of European countries. They discussed the defense of Europe against the encroachments of the Ottoman Empire and the newly formed association of the Western (Catholic) and Eastern (Orthodox) churches. In the XIV-XVIII centuries. formed the architectural ensemble of the city that numerous defects and transformation preserved to this day . Memorable architecture capital of Volyn in 1985 merged into the history Rico and Cultural Reserve ” Old Town “. The dominant group is the oldest fortification architecture monument of the city – Upper Castle planted last prince of Galicia- Volyn land Lubart 1340-1384 pp. Preserved three large towers of the castle: Entrance ( of Westminster ) Styr ( Svydrygailo ) and Vladych , connected by a 230- met- rovym high wall.

Between the entry and Styr towers in place of the princely palace ( which existed at the beginning of XV c.) Is ” Gentry ” house ( 1789) with an exhibition of Lutsk Art Gallery Museum. In Vladych tower , near which stood the palace of the bishop , bishops , from which its name has gone on display exhibits bells at Entrance – exhibition building ceramics.

Go to the top of the castle belonged fourfold greater Okilnyy castle which housed the prince and noble courts . Here, after the Union of Brest in 1596 founded their monasteries from many Catholic orders . The monastery of the Jesuits was traditionally the most famous in a higher educational institution with a rich library of old books and student theater, their magnificent Church of St. Peter and Paul , built in 1639 p., Later received the status of a cathedral , and now is the main Catholic church in Volyn.

Of the eight towers Okilnoho castle remained only one – Princes Czartoryski – and fragments of walls (XV c.) . Locking between the ditch and the river located commercial and craft districts that are , in fact, formed a city that has been legally separated from the castle – had its own government ( council ). In the old city remained to this day separate buildings Basilian Monastery (1647 ) and the Trinitarians (1729 ) and the main Orthodox church in Lutsk – Cathedral of Holy Trinity Cathedral at the end of XIX century. transformed the church, confiscated in the Bernardine Monastery (1752 ).

In the next area , which is a Polish style called ” Zhydivschynoyu ” Jews lived , which , together with the Karaites were invited to the city during the reign of Vytautas (XV c.) For the development of crafts and trade. Preserved main Synagogue of Lutsk (1629 ) defense of such completed before the prayer hall tower, by which it is sometimes called ” Little Castle “.

The current Luck, at least its central part is nice to visit and cozy at the same time the business city of the country.

to help the traveler

Луцк

Рус Укр Eng

Луцк – один из старейших городов Украины и исторический центр Волыни и центр современной Волынской области – расположен на берегах реки Стырь. Первое летописное упоминание о Луческ (основан в излучине реки, от которого и произошло название) 1085 свидетельствует, что уже тогда он имел укрепления и был достаточно большим ремесленно-торговым центром Киевской Руси.

Достопримечательности Луцка

После присоединения Волыни к Великому княжеству Литовскому в середине XIV в. Луцк становится южной резиденцией его властителей и последней столицей Галицко-Волынского княжества. По предложению императора Священной Римской империи Сигизмунда 1429 Луцк выбран местом проведения грандиозного по масштабам съезда монархов европейских государств. Они обсуждали вопросы защиты Европы от посягательств вновь Османской империи и об объединении западной (католической) и восточной (православной) церквей. В XIV-XVIII вв. формируется архитектурный ансамбль города, с многочисленными нарушениями и трансформациями сохранился до наших дней. Памятные архитектурные сооружения столицы Волыни 1985 объединены в историко-культурный заповедник «Старый Луцк». Доминантой ансамбля является старейшая достопримечательность фортификационной архитектуры города – Верхний замок, заложенный еще последним князем Галицко-Волынской земли Любартом 1340-1384 pp. Сохранились три крупных башни замка: Въездная (Любарта), Стыровая (Свидригайло) и Владычья, соединены между собой 230-мет-ровым высокой стеной.

Между Въездной и Стыровой башнями на месте княжеского дворца (существовавший в начале XV в.) Расположен «благородный» дом (1789) с экспозицией картинной галереи Луцкого краеведческого музея. В Владычьей башни, рядом с которой стоял дворец епископа-владыки, откуда и пошло ее название, выставлены экспонаты музея колоколов, в Въездной – выставка строительной керамики.

К Верхнего замка примыкал вчетверо больше окильний замок, где размещались княжеские и благородные дворы. Здесь после Брестской унии 1596 г. основали свои монастыри представители многих католических орденов. При монастыре иезуитов традиционно находился известный в городе высшее учебное заведение с богатой библиотекой старинных и студенческим театром, их величественный костел Святых Петра и Павла, построенный 1639 p., Впоследствии получил статус кафедрального и сейчас является главным католическим храмом Волыни.

Из восьми башен окильний замка сохранилась лишь одна – князей Чарторыйских – и фрагменты стен (XV в.). Между замковым рвом и рекой располагались торгово-ремесленные кварталы, которые, собственно, и формировали город, было юридически отделено от замка – мало свое правительство (магистрат). На территории старого города остались до наших дней отдельные сооружения монастырей василианов (1647) и тринитариев (1729) и главный луцкий православный храм – кафедральный Свято-Троицкий собор, в конце XIX в. трансформирован из костела, конфискованного у монастыря бернардинцев (1752).

В соседнем районе, на польский манер называли «Жидивщиною», жили евреи, которых вместе с караимами в город пригласили еще в княжение Витовта (XV в.) Для развития ремесел и торговли. Сохранилась главная луцкая синагога (1629) оборонного типа с пристроенной к молитвенного зала башней, благодаря которой ее иногда называют «Малым замком».

Нынешний Луцк, по крайней мере его центральная часть, представляет собой приятное для посещения уютное и одновременно деловой город запада страны.


в помощь путешественнику